Login Items in Cart Checkout

Hayne Vineyard

An Historical Reference

In 1849 Captain George Chase (Katie’s great-great-greatgrandfather) sailed to San Francisco in search of gold. When he came upon shore, George wrote to his good friend and business partner William Bourn, saying “San Francisco promises to be a most lucrative center for men of imagination and business enterprise.” William, who had an eye for good deals and ventures, couldn’t refuse and traveled west to work with George, and in short order became a successful banker. He was so outrageously successful that the business community actually coined the phrase “Bourn Luck”.

The property, now known as Hayne Vineyard, was purchased in 1872 by William Bowers Bourn and his wife Sarah Esther Chase Bourn (Katie’s great-great grandmother) as a summer retreat from the stress of the high stakes business world in San Francisco. While here, they would stay in the white cottage — now Katie’s home, next to the winery— and always remarked on how beautiful and peaceful it was.

The youngest of Sarah and William’s six children, Maud (Katie’s great grandmother), married William Alston Hayne – who became the namesake for what is now known as the Hayne Vineyard.

During this period, William’s son William Bourn II — also a visionary businessman — used his father’s wealth to further develop the Empire Mine, which turned out to be the largest hard rock gold strike in California. Not content to stop there, he also created San Francisco’s first water and gas utilities.

As part of his legacy, he built two of the most iconic buildings in the Bay Area: the Filoli mansion, and Greystone.